2018 Independent Hotel Show Award winners revealed

UK: The winners of the Independent Hotel Show Awards were announced last night at the Independent Hotel Show, at London’s Olympia.

Nominations were shortlisted by a committee of hoteliers, journalists and thought-leaders* and votes cast by the industry.

The Independent Hotelier award recognises the passion of an independent, spirited hotelier, who has made a significant contribution to the industry over the past year. The individual has a reputation for pushing boundaries, creating exceptional guest experiences and driving the luxury boutique hotel sector forwards with creativity and wisdom, as well as being committed to developing their team.

This year’s winner was Adam Rowledge, general manager of Georgian House in London. He said: “I’m honoured to win, especially as the shortlist was made up of so many amazing hoteliers. I’m blown away by all the support from the industry and couldn’t have done this without my team and Serena von der Heyde, who have given me the opportunity to do the things that have allowed me to be recognised by the industry.”

The Outstanding New Hotel Award celebrates an independent hotel that brings dynamism and coveted ideas to the sector and has been operating for no more than three years. A game-changer with a unique style, the hotel has influenced attitudes within the sector, whilst providing exemplary service and amazing guest experiences, as well as demonstrating remarkable business efficiency.

The winner was Another Place, The Lake. Will Ashworth, CEO of Another Place, The Lake, says: “It was quite an undertaking to open our first hotel within the Another Place collection on the shores of Ullswater, just over a year ago. Our team in The Lake has worked very hard to make our vision a reality – this award is truly a testament to them all.”

James Tweddle, director – accommodation at Sky, who sponsored the awards, said: “I was really impressed by the standard of entries into this year’s Independent Hotel Show Awards. The passion, hard work and commitment shown by all the nominees in their entries was clear to see. It provided great insight into how far hoteliers go to creating and maintaining a first-class guest experience.”

The Independent Hotelier shortlist:
Peter Banks, Rudding Park Hotel
Will Ashworth, Another Place
David & Charlotte Reilly Yorebridge House
Laurence Beere, The Queensberry Hotel
Adam Rowledge, Georgian House
Claire Randall, Lucknam Park

The Outstanding New Hotel shortlist:
Another Place, The Lake
Palé Hall
Artist Residence Oxfordshire
Titanic Hotel, Belfast
The Mandrake
Oddfellows On The Park

Be in the know.

Subscribe to our newsletter »