Shortlist revealed for Independent Hotel Show Awards 2019

UK: The shortlist for the Independent Hotelier and Hotel Innovation awards, held at the Independent Hotel Show 2019, has been announced.

The Independent Hotel Show is being held 15th and 16th October 2019 at London’s Olympia. The show presents a curated collection of 350 exhibitors, showcasing innovative ideas, products and services within the hotel industry.

The show’s annual awards are divided into four categories: hotelier, hotel, general manager, and long-time achievement.

The Independent Hotelier Award recognises an “excellent hotelier with a reputation for pushing boundaries and creating exceptional guest experiences.” The shortlist for this award includes:

  • Harry Cragoe, owner, The Gallivant, East Sussex
  • Mark and Felicity Cunliffe-Lister, owners of Swinton Park, North Yorkshire
  • Paula Ellis, group general manager, Retreats Group – Twr y Felin, Roch Castle, Penrhiw Priory, Pembrokshire
  • Anton Fedun, owner of The Ampersand and Vintry & Mercer, London
  • James and Fjona Hill, owners of Hampton Manor, West Midlands
  • David and Charlotte Reiley, owners of Yorebridge House, Yorkshire

The Hotel Innovation Award showcases an “independently spirited hotel that has made a significant impact on the industry through dynamic approaches to reshape guest experience.” The shortlist for this award includes:

  • Mollie’s Motel & Diner
  • Whatley Manor Hotel and Spa
  • The Cow Hollow Hotel, Manchester
  • Hampton Manor, West Midlands
  • Swinton Park, Yorkshire Dales
  • Manor House Lindley, Huddersfield

These shortlists were compiled by a judging panel, who have already cast their votes. The panel comprises of:

  • Adam Raphael, editor, Good Hotel Guide
  • Charlotte Evans, group publishing director, Condé Nast Johansens
  • David Noble, director of hospitality and leisure, James Hallam Insurance Brokers
  • Fiona Duncan, The Telegraph & Sunday Telegraph
  • Will Ashworth, managing director, Watergate Bay
  • Laura Sharpe, general manager, Ham Yard Hotel
  • Janet Harmer, associate editor, The Caterer
  • Peter Hancock, chief executive, Pride of Britain Hotels
  • Adam Rowledge, managing director, Rowledge Associates
  • Zoe Monk, editor, Boutique Hotelier

The final ranking will be influenced by the industry. To vote for the winners of these awards, please click here.

New for the 2019 show is the GM of the Future Award, created in partnership with the Master Innholders. This award recognises “rising stars in the hotel industry, their ‘extra mile’ attitude, and commitment to becoming a future leader to inspire others.”

The award will be judged by the Master Innholders and the shortlist will be revealed next week, commencing 9th September.

The fourth and final award is a Long-time Achievement award. All four winners will be announced 15th October, at the end of the first day of the Independent Hotel Show.

Be in the know.

Subscribe to our newsletter »