The European Hotel Design Awards winners unveiled in London

UK: The European Hotel Design Awards 2013 were celebrated last night at a ceremony in London.

Around 900 guests gathered together for the reception and dinner, followed by the awards ceremony presented by broadcaster Lauren Laverne.

The 2013 Winners were:
• Architecture of the Year – Conversion and/or Extension of an Existing Hotel Building: Ushuaia Beach Hotel, Ibiza, designed by Estudio Vila 13
• Architecture of the Year – Conversion of an Existing Non-Hotel Building to Hotel Use: Speicher 7 in Mannheim, designed by Schmucker und Partner
• Architecture of the Year – Newbuild Hotel: Bulgari Hotel & Residences, London designed by Antonio Citterio, Patricia Veil & Partners and Squire & Partners
• Interior Design of the Year – Lobby, Lounge & Public Areas: The Alpina Gstaad; designer – The Gallery HBA London
• Interior Design of the Year – Café or All-Day Dining: 25hours Hotel, Zurich West; designer – Alfredo Häberli Design Development
• Interior Design of the Year – Restaurant: Plum and Spilt Milk, the Great Northern Hotel, London; designed by Archer Humphryes Architects
• Interior Design of the Year – Bar: Cuckoo’s Nest at Radisson Blu Riverside, Gothenburg; designer – Stylt Trampoli AB
• Interior Design of the Year – Bedrooms & Bathrooms: The Alpina Gstaad; designer – The Gallery HBA London
• Interior Design of the Year – Suite: The Oslo Suite at The Thief in Oslo; designer – Anemone Wille Väge
• Interior Design of the Year – Spa, Health & Leisure Facilities: Castell dels Hams, Mallorca; designed by A2arquitectos
• The European Hotel Design of the Year: The Alpina Gstaad; designers – The Gallery HBA London
Tomorrow’s Hotel: KOI by MM Planners
•The ReardonSmith Student Award: James Young, Canterbury School of Architecture
• The Outstanding Contribution Award: Ian Schrager

Members of the judging panel were Stuart Wilsdon of Wilsdon Design Assoicates, Paul Priestman of Priestman Goode, Rob Wagemans from Concrete, Erik Nissen from Stylt Trampoli, Robbie Bargh of Gorgeous Group, Javier Hortal from Mandarin Oriental, Celia Geyer of Hilton Worldwide, Jeremy Blake from Purcell, Stuart Bradbury of ADS Design, Eugene Staal from Carlson Rezidor, Ahmed Akudi from Grohe, Eileen Keribar, Gregoir Chikaher from Arup, James Dilley from Jestico + Whiles, Christoph Hoffmann of 25Hours Hotels, Daniel Englander from Benjamin West, Stephanie Briggs of Steph Briggs Design, design journalist Guy Dittrich and Sleeper Magazine’s Matt Turner. The chairperson was Simon Ford of Dorchester Collection.

Commenting on this year’s awards, Simon Ford said: “Not only did we receive more excellent entries than ever before, but they were more diverse. So it made coming to a decision even tougher. Our judging process is rigorous and, between us, we visit all the shortlisted hotels before we get together to hammer out the winners. We look for creative excellence, commercial viability and evidence that the designs meet the needs of the client and guest alike. To my mind, the range, talent and fresh thinking seen especially in the work of this year’s winners amply demonstrate the flourishing, varied and pioneering quality of hospitality design today.”

The 2013 European Hotel Design Awards dinner was held in London’s Park Plaza Westminster Bridge. The headline sponsor was Grohe; other sponsors were: Artelia, Keramag Design, Arup, Laufen, McAleer & Rushe, Protocol, Mivan, Alger-Triton and Preciosa.

Be in the know.

Subscribe to our newsletter »